That Was Fun

joeThis past week, I played a couple of solo acoustic Cactus Joe shows, after a bit of a hiatus from that particular incarnation of rock-n-roll. I had been doing more full band projects up until recently, but for a variety of reasons, these other projects are on hold or in development, and I am not one to just sit on my hands and wait. So I fired up a set of tunes, old and new, and took them on the road.

Most recently, I played a happy hour show at the Bos Meadery in Madison WI last night. The turnout was disappointing, but the people who came were awesome and said it was one of my best performances. The acoustics in the Bos Meadery’s tasting room are superb for solo acoustic rocking. I don’t really care how many people show up to a show (their loss), but I give it my all for whoever does. I took a half day off from work to woodshed the songs one last time before fire hosing them all over the mead house tasting room. Mead is a delightful beverage, something between beer and white wine.

Last Sunday I played a short set at the Cardinal Bar in Madison for a quarterly art show called Art Nest. The audience was bigger there, mainly due to the art show, but the set was shorter. I was barely hitting my stride before I had to relinquish the stage to the performers following me.

I had a lot of fun. Also, whilst I was tearing down my gear after the Bos show, I talked with proprietor Colleen Bos about playing there again. She really enjoyed my material. Her next available date was January 8, which just happens to also be Cactus Joe’s Birthday Eve, so via my rock-n-roll skills I was able to secure a music venue for my birthday party and YOU’RE ALL INVITED.

Ciao!

CJ

About Manwich B. Khakazzi

Manwich B is a songwriter, producer, performing musician, and free agent in Madison, WI. He also hosts and livestreams the infamous live music house concerts from the Manwich Music Mansion.

Posted on October 30, 2015, in Essentials. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment